2021 CBB Awards Through Non-Con Play

The 2021-2022 college basketball season is roughly a third over. Most teams have just started conference play or will do so soon after their holiday break. If you’re like me, you’ll want a measuring stick to compare teams and players thus far in the season. We hear about the “September Heisman” in college football but the concept doesn’t really exist in college hoops.

So, this juncture seems like a good time to check in and see who has performed the best through non-conference play. I decided to expand a bit as well for other things like the All-America team, likely conference winners, one seed, etc. mostly just to look back upon for March. Note that this is not a projection of how I think things will end up but rather how I think awards and seeding should be handled if the regular season ended today.

Individual Awards:

COY – Scott Drew, Baylor

POY – G Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

DPOY – C Christian Koloko, Arizona

ROY – F Paolo Banchero, Duke

All-America First Team:

G Ochai Agbaji, Kansas

G Jaden Ivey, Purdue

F Drew Timme, Gonzaga

F EJ Liddell, Ohio State

F Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

One Seeds:





Multi-Bid Conference Front Runners:

Big 12 – Baylor, Kansas

B1G – Purdue

Big East – Villanova, Seton Hall

SEC – LSU, Auburn

ACC – Duke

Pac 12 – Arizona, UCLA

WCC – Gonzaga

A10 – Davidson

MWC – Colorado State

AAC – Houston